



Answers

There are five main parts to the reproductive system in the female. These are:

- 1. The **uterus** where the fetus develops
- 2. The ovaries where the eggs are produced
- 3. The **Fallopian tubes** which connect the ovaries to the uterus
- 4. The **vagina** which receives the male sperm
- 5. The **cervix** which connects the vagina to the uterus

The ovaries produce eggs which are called ova or **oocytes**. These **ova** then travel through the Fallopian tubes where fertilization may occur. The male sperm enter the female through the **vagina**.

When a sperm enters an egg and fertilises, the egg becomes known as a **zygote**. After three to five days the zygote travels to the **uterus**. In response to hormones, the **uterine lining** thickens and the zygote embeds in the lining. As the cells begin to multiply the zygote develops into a **fetus**.

Normal **gestation** is nine months. During this time the fetus is enveloped in a membranous sac known as the **placenta**. It receives nourishment and **oxygen** through the **umbilical cord**. Waste products are returned to the mother through the placenta.

As the fetus develops, the mothers' **mammary glands** enlarge in the breast as they prepare to secrete milk for after the baby's birth.